

# 2025 General Election - Official List of Candidates

The individuals listed below are verified by the Chief Returning Officer to have met the requirements for candidacy, as set out in the Electoral Code, and are declared as official candidates for election to the respective position in the 2025 CUSA General Election.

Candidates were declared as official upon verification by the CRO that they had:

- 1. Submitted their completed nomination to the CRO through the official online nomination form during the nomination period;
- 2. Submitted at least the minimum number of nominators required for the position, as per S. 29 and 30 of the Code, and had those nominators successfully verified as eligible voters, as confirmed by the Carleton University Registrar's Office;
- 3. Verified as meeting the undergraduate enrollment requirements of S. 11 (a), (c), or S. 12 (a), (c) of the Code, as confirmed by the Carleton University Registrar's Office;
- 4. Verified as being eligible to hold leadership positions within Carleton University, as per S. 11 (b) or 12 (b) of the Code, as confirmed by the Carleton University Student Conduct Office; and
- 5. Attended the all-candidates meeting, or approved alternative, to receive important election information and had the opportunity to review all relevant election policies and ask questions of the CRO.

#### **Official Presidential Candidates**

- 1 Position
- 3 Candidates

Abuihmaid, Nagam
Joe-Ezigbo, Sean
Nuhn, Chas



# Official Councillor Candidates (by Constituency)

Arts and Social Sciences 8 Seats 7 Candidates	Engineering and Design 7 Seats 8 Candidates	Public Affairs 7 Seats 11 Candidates
El Fitori, Mohamad Adel	Bruni, Nathan	Abdulla, Yasmine
Louima, Withchelie	Cumming, Jeronimo	Boamah, Nifemi
Maldonado-Jimenez, Gerardo	Harper, Tryton	Cole, Avery
McIsaac, Cass	Kopytskiy, Amy	Doduck, Jaac
Muzzatti, Brooke	Matida-Torrico, Viveca	Eastcott, Carter
Shaban, Maya	Sheltami, Boothaina	Gee, Elissa
Zhang, Cherry	Singh, Aryan	Heroux, Maxwell
	Thungathurti, Amogh	Janapatla, Aditri
		Pinto, Maddox
		Tran, Chloe
		Wren, Jamie

Science 6 Seats 7 Candidates	Sprott School of Business 3 Seats 2 Candidates	Special Student 1 Seat 0 Candidates
Ahmed, Ramla	Colliton, Prestyn	
Bui, Nghia	Vinokur, Nathan	
El Domiaty, Mariem		
Itani, Reyna		
Ojediran, Godchosen		
Orlowski, Liam		
Sivanesan, Maheeshan		



## **Prospective Candidates not Verified**

The following individuals submitted a nomination form as a prospective candidate in the 2025 CUSA General Election, but were not able to be verified by the Chief Returning Officer to have met the requirements for candidacy, as set out in the Electoral Code, and therefore have had their candidacy declared ineligible.

#### Hashimi, Bilal (Faculty of Science)

- Did not submit at least the minimum number of valid nominators from the
  constituency of the position they were seeking (for the Faculty of Science twelve), that is set out in S. 30 of the Electoral Code and Table 1 of the Nomination
  Guidelines. As verified by the Carleton University Registrar's Office, only ten of
  their twelve submitted nominators were found to be eligible undergraduate
  students in the Faculty of Science.
- Failed to ensure that all student names and student numbers recorded on their nomination sheet intended to nominate them as a candidate, as required by S. 34 of the Electoral Code, and failed to receive the informed consent of their nominators for their information to be used, as required by S. 36.5 of the Electoral Code and indicated on the nomination form they submitted. Upon verification, at least five of the nominators listed confirmed that they had not nominated this individual as a candidate, had never knowingly provided their name and student number to them, and were unaware of who the candidate was or how they had obtained their personal information.

#### Hussein, Omar (Faculty of Science)

- Did not submit at least the minimum number of valid nominators from the
  constituency of the position they were seeking (for the Faculty of Science twelve), that is set out in S. 30 of the Electoral Code and Table 1 of the Nomination
  Guidelines. As verified by the Carleton University Registrar's Office, only ten of
  their twelve submitted nominators were found to be eligible undergraduate
  students in the Faculty of Science.
- Failed to ensure that all student names and student numbers recorded on their nomination sheet intended to nominate them as a candidate, as required by S. 34 of the Electoral Code, and failed to receive the informed consent of their



nominators for their information to be used, as required by S. 36.5 of the Electoral Code and indicated on the nomination form they submitted. Upon verification, at least five of the nominators listed confirmed that they had not nominated this individual as a candidate, had never knowingly provided their name and student number to them, and were unaware of who the candidate was or how they had obtained their personal information.

# Lowe, Justin (President):

- Did not meet the two semester criteria of being enrolled in undergraduate courses in both the semester the election is being held in and the semester prior, as set out in S. 11 (a) of the Electoral Code, and as verified by the Carleton University Registrar's Office.
- Is not an enrolled undergraduate student, as required by S. 11 (c) of the Electoral Code, and as verified by the Carleton University Registrar's Office.

## Oluwakayode, Dara (Sprott School of Business):

- Did not submit at least the minimum number of valid nominators from the
  constituency of the position they were seeking (for the Sprott School of Business six), that is set out in S. 30 of the Electoral Code and Table 1 of the Nomination
  Guidelines. As verified by the Carleton University Registrar's Office, zero of their
  six submitted nominators were found to be eligible undergraduate students in the
  Sprott School of Business.
- Did not attend the all-candidates meeting, nor completed the approved alternative.
- Provided no communications to the CRO and failed to respond to any email correspondence from the CRO.

### Sanchez, Joe (Sprott School of Business):

- Did not attend the all-candidates meeting, nor completed the approved alternative.
- Provided no communications to the CRO and failed to respond to any email
  correspondence from the CRO, which included four emails over a span of one
  week which notified them of the requirements they needed to fulfill in order to be
  confirmed as a candidate.



Additionally, three prospective Councillor candidates from the Faculty of Science and two from the Sprott School of Business submitted their nomination but subsequently elected to voluntarily withdraw their nomination prior to the beginning of the campaign period.

January 29, 2025 Connor Plante, Chief Returning Officer, Carleton University Students' Association